Last year, the department awarded over $11,000 to outstanding students.

This year, we want more applicants than ever before! Apply by Monday, March 9, 2015, and show us why you deserve to receive scholarship money and recognition. 

Undergraduate scholarships

Barry Wright Memorial Scholarship

  • If you like to write poetry, this is the scholarship for you!
    • Previous winners:
      • 2014: Brent Holden
      • 2013: Scott Bugher
      • 2012: Anne Haben

Elizabeth Martin Scholarship

  • We give this scholarship to students who demonstrate their scholarship and character by taking on leadership roles.
    • 2014 winners:
      Daniel Brount

      Daniel Brount, Editor in Chief at The Ball State Daily News.

      • Daniel Brount
      • Rachel Johnson
      • Brittany Means

Dr. Janet Ross Scholarship for Teachers of English as a Second Language

  • If you want to sign up for this scholarship, you have to be a teaching major in English/Language Arts. You also have to be enrolled in an English as a Second Language licensure program.
  • If the selection committee recommends it, the award may go to you and several other students.
    • 2014 winners:
      • Seula Han
      • Isaac Muhando

Carol S. Chalk Memorial Scholarship

  •  Named after Carol S. Chalk, who directed at Ball State’s Writing Center.
  • This scholarship is for Writing Center employees who demonstrate patience, creativity, and a commitment to helping other student writers.
    • Previous winners:
      • 2014: Morgan Aprill
      • 2013: Thomas Carreras
      • 2012: Bradley Hough

Leslie and Patrick Ballard Scholarship

  • Do you want to teach English? Sign up!
  • There’s also an application for high school students entering BSU in the fall.
    • 2014 winner:
      • Kristal All

Matt Jones Creative Writing Scholarship

Tyler Gobble, who will read at this year's In Print Festival.

Tyler Gobble, who will read at this year’s In Print Festival.

  • If you major in English/Creative Writing, devote yourself to the craft of writing, and demonstrate financial need, you have a chance to win this scholarship.
    • Previous winners:
      • 2014: Hannah Vollmer
      • 2013: Brittany Means
      • 2012: Elysia Smith
      • 2011: Elysia Smith
      • 2010: Tyler Gobble

Midwest Writers Workshop Scholarship in Creative Writing

  • The Midwest Writer’s Workshop is a conference that gathers authors, agents, and editors to provide insight into the world of publishing as it is today.
  • If you win this scholarship, you receive a tuition-paid registration to “Part II” of the MWW. That means you can…
    • Learn different marketing/writing techniques for industry experts, like Jane Friedman.
    • Meet other writers and make lasting connections.
    • Submit a manuscript to an agent for review.

Scholarship Poster

Once you’re ready…

Come to the English office (Robert Bell, 297) and give Sharon Hillman your applications. Be sure to give her your letters of recommendation. You can find more information online here!

Winners will be announced at the Department of English Awards Ceremony held in April.

If you have any questions about certain scholarships and awards, you can contact Joyce Huff ( or Sean Lovelace (

Don’t forget: there are also scholarships and assistantships available for graduate students!

Good luck, and thanks for applying!