Each spring the English Department hosts an annual awards ceremony which recognizes its undergraduate and graduate students with a number of awards and scholarships. Below is a compiled list of this past year’s recipients as well as photos from the event. We congratulate each of the winners and, as always, are grateful to all who have contributed to the department scholarship funds and allowed us to award over $12,000 to our students in the 2011-12 academic year.

-Tyler Fields reading his poem “On Interpreting” from the Broken Plate
*Photo provided by the English Department

Barry Wright Scholarship
-Anne Haben

Elizabeth Martin Scholarship
-Andrew Neylon
-Ranger Puterbaugh
-Bethany Stewart

-From left to right: Kat Graham, Kelsi Morrisson-Atkins, Jeremy Carnes, and Prof. Mark Neely
*Photo provided by the English Department

Leslie and Patrick Ballard Scholarship
-Emma Baumann

Matt Jones Creative Writing Scholarship
-Elysia Smith

English Studies Scholarship
-Thomas St. Pierre
-Brittany Snyder

Carol S. Chalk Memorial Scholarship
-Brad Hough

Outstanding Senior Award
-Kelsi Morrison-Atkins
(Be sure to see Kelsi’s recent blog post, which describes her Ball State experience and her future as a graduate student at Harvard University.)

Voss Scholarship
-Monica Robinson
-Shane Thomson

-Dr. Robert Habich and Outstanding Senior Kelsi Morrison-Atkins
*Photo provided by the English Department