Ball State Estopinal College of Architecture and Planning’s (ECAP) 2024 MKM Student Design Competition is a multifaceted program with an abundance of opportunity for student engagement. In addition to ECAP’s internal competition sponsored by MKM architecture + design, each student will have the opportunity to submit their design proposal to the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) for the 24th Annual Steel Design Competition administered by the ACSA and sponsored by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC).

Approximately $4,000 of prize money is made available for the competition from MKM and will be awarded at the discretion of the jury. An internal selection process will select 25 finalists who will then be forwarded to the jury to identify the top five project winners.

The site selected for the internal competition is the “Tin Cap Center” located in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Steel must be used as the primary structural material and contain at least one space that requires a long-span steel structure, with special emphasis placed on innovation in steel design.



The Fort Wayne “Tin Cap Center”
The Tin Cap Center is a mixed use development that aspires to further catalyze existing energies in Fort Wayne and clearly establish it as a regional model for positive development and growth. The center will house a food hub with local produce, rentable office space, a restaurant, event space, an auditorium, and health and wellness center. The designs will also include an exterior plaza space. Students are challenged to imagine the role architecture can and should play in the evolving Civic condition of Fort Wayne, and propose unique, appropriate and dynamic architectural solutions.

1st PLACE – MENZA Prize
Dawt Chin, ” The Junction”

Beatrice DiRienzo, “Grid Bound”

Andrew Lee, “The Eden”


Ryan Haggenjos, “Aqua Vista”

Hannah Ruhe, “Hyperweave 33”

Steven Alspaugh, , Schmidt Associates
Andrew Adegbamigbe, , Curran Architecture
Dodd Kattman, AIA, Principal, MKM architecture + design, Fort Wayne, IN
Jarred Monce, Architect, Design Collaborative
Lisa Sauve,

Cesar Cruz, Josh Coggeshall, Olon Dotson, Brian Robinson, Miguel San Miguel, Tim Gray