The end of the school year brings a lot of excitement including the annual MKM architecture + design Steel Competition for 3rd year architecture students. The competition is based off of the ACSA National Steel Competition where students are also encouraged to submit their projects. This year’s challenge is to design “A Place for the Spirit,” choosing one of three sites on campus using steel as the primary construction material. The students prepare all semester to showcase their creativity and design skills, while also researching the unique properties of steel. They have been exploring different forms, shapes, and textures that steel can take, and brainstorming innovative ideas that align with the theme.

This year’s students rose to the challenge and produced outstanding designs that reflect their passion and talent for architecture and design. All 61 third-year students participated in the competition, 22 of which made it to the finalist list with the top award being The Menze Prize. This award was created in 2016 to honor CAP alum Ronald Menze, one of the founding Principals of MKM and a recipient of the Alumni Award of Outstanding Achievement from Ball State’s College of Architecture and Planning.


Lucas Brown, AIA, Brownsmith Studios, Bloomington, IN
Sara Codarin, PhD, Lawrence Technological University, Southfield, MI
Dodd Kattman, AIA, MKM architecture + design, Fort Wayne, IN
Clete Kunce, AIA, ONE 10 STUDIO, Indianapolis, IN
Steve Zabel, FAIA, MD+A, Indianapolis, IN


Matthew Coffee, “The Canopy”
Faculty mentor: Tim Gray


Alec Meister,”Spiritually Centered”
Faculty mentor: David Franklin


Nathan Owens, “Natural Sanctum”
Faculty mentor: Miguel San Miguel



Kaylynne Fernandes, “Quilted Patterns”
Faculty mentor: Tim Gray

Nathan Ritz, “Biophilic Spiritual Retreat: A place for the spirit’
Faculty mentor: Tim Gray



Kyler Williams, “Grounded in Spirit”
Faculty mentor: David Franklin


Emma Wynn, The Sacred In-Between”
Faculty mentor: Miguel San Miguel


FINALIST (also jury reviewed)
Nash Miller
Joshua Hoff
Adebisi Igbasanmi
Dylan McCullum
Ethan Hoover
Cade Iles
Benjamin Rutledge
Jashawn Keys
Graham Longnaker
Ainsley Ludema
Becca Northey
Braeden Noll
Kevin Shelly
John Majekodunmi
Brenna Campbell