Dr. Vincent Bowhay, winner of the Teachers College Young Alumni Award, is a 2010 graduate of the student affairs administration in higher education master’s program. Originally from Hoyt, Kansas, he is a first-generation college graduate who earned his bachelor’s degree in English literature from Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas. After his time at Ball State, he went on to earn an EdD in educational leadership from Baker University in Baldwin, Kansas in 2017.

Professional Experience and Leadership

Over the years, Dr. Bowhay has held various positions all focused on student success in higher education, including Coordinator of Student Involvement, followed by Assistant Director of the Memorial Union at Fort Hays State University, as well as Career Development Director at Missouri Western State University. He also spent two years working for Campus Labs, an educational technology and assessment company, where he oversaw assessment and accreditation efforts at hundreds of institutions.

His instructional experience includes time teaching sections of introduction to leadership and other such leadership courses at Ball State, Fort Hays State University, and Missouri Western State University. He also taught intensive study abroad courses at Fort Hays and Ball State, focusing on leadership, cultural exchanges, teacher development, and civic engagement.

In November 2019, Dr. Bowhay became Vice President for Student Affairs at Independence Community College (ICC). His dedication and passion for higher education was well noted by his colleagues, and in April 2021, he was named President of the college after a unanimous vote by the ICC Board of Trustees.

Jonathan Sadhoo, Vice President for Administration and Finance and CFO at ICC speaks highly of his leadership during the pandemic:

“As Chair of our Emergency Response Team throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Bowhay has brought a sense of calm professionalism to a very chaotic time. He has created policies and procedures that have kept our campus safe and has responded to each scenario and crisis in a way that promotes diversity of thought and values the contributions of every individual.”

Grant Funding

At ICC, in addition to overseeing the the institution’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Bowhay also supervised all major grant projects. One notable recent award was the U.S. Department of Education Centers of Excellence for Veteran Student Success Program. ICC was awarded over $400,000 to create a center dedicated to coordinating services that address the academic, financial, physical, and social needs of veteran students. They were one of only 16 colleges selected nationwide out of 92 applications.

He is passionate about the role higher education plays in preparing students for a life of civic engagement, and his work with registering students to vote in the 2020 election resulted in a $10,000 Ask Every Student Implementation Grant for ICC to promote student voter participation efforts. Indeed, ICC was one of 231 campuses nationwide named a Voter Friendly Campus for engaging students in the election, due in large part to Dr. Bowhay’s efforts.


Dr. Bowhay has received several awards over the years, including:

  • National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) IV-West Programming Award – Campus-Based Literature/Research (2020)
  • Missouri Western State University Student Affairs Unsung Hero Award (2019)
  • Center for Credentialing and Education Board Certified Coach Honoree (2019)
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon Alumni Volunteer Corporation Operational Excellence Award (2017)
  • NASPA Gender and Sexuality Knowledge Community Research Award (2017)
  • National Association for Campus Activities (NACA) National Volunteer Service Award (2016)
  • NACA National Patsy Morley Outstanding Programmer Award (2015)
  • NACA National Diversity Program Achievement Award (2015)
  • NASPA Region IV-West Innovative Program Award (2015)
  • Association for Orientation, Transition, and Retention in Higher Education Regional Innovative Program Award (2015)
  • Fort Hays State University Faculty/Staff Mentorship Award (2015)
  • Fort Hays State University Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award (2015)
  • Fort Hays State University First Year Experience Camp Namesake – Camp Bowhay (2013)
  • Washburn University President’s Distinguished Leader Award (2008)

Congratulations again to Dr. Vincent Bowhay!