Jessi Schroeder (she/her/hers) is a first year-doctoral student.

Where is your hometown?

Before college, I lived in Greenfield, Indiana.

Where did you obtain your bachelor’s and master’s degrees, and what were your major(s)?

I consider myself a “Ball State Lifer,” as I have received both of my degrees from Ball State. My bachelor’s degree is in psychological science and Spanish, and my master’s degree is in clinical mental health counseling.

What first interested you in counseling psychology?

I first became interested in psychology in high school, but I realized I wanted to be a psychologist through my volunteer work. This commitment taught me the importance of mental health work and advocacy when considering community wellness, and I wanted to contribute. I specifically chose counseling psychology because of the emphasis on social justice and diversity, which is central to my values and goals. I didn’t not expect to fall in love with counseling, but I’m so grateful to be doing this work.


Why did you choose Ball State?

I originally chose Ball State because it had a good psychology program, and I stayed because I love the community and know the programs will provide me with the proper training and skills.

What do you think of your experience at Ball State as a Doctoral student so far? 

Well, this experience has certainly been tough. Honestly, though, I really enjoy the work I’m doing and the people I’m doing it with. I think I got lucky with my cohort, because they’ve really made this experience much more enjoyable for me.

What are your research interests?
My research interests are in sexuality among gender, sexual, and romantic minorities. Currently, I am interested in understanding sexual health constructs among those who practice bondage and discipline, dominance and submission, and sadism and masochism.

What are your future plans and career goals?

My future plans and career goals include becoming a certified sex therapist and working in academia. I would really love to split my time between practicing and teaching.

What are a few of your favorite hobbies?

Lately, I have been spending a lot of my free time reading. Although I enjoy a good nonfiction book every now and then, I really love being able to get lost in the stories that fiction provides. I also enjoy making friendship bracelets and knitting when I have the time.

What is your favorite time of the day and why?

My favorite time of the day is actually night. I really enjoy being the only one awake, and I find I am more productive when I have the space and quietness. Unfortunately, I’ve had to become more of a morning person lately, but I never miss out on the opportunity to stay up later!

What’s something about you that people would be surprised to know?

Something that a lot of people don’t know about me is that I really love the outdoors. As soon as the weather is nice enough, I spend a good chunk of my free time hiking, planting fruits and vegetables, or even hammocking on my porch.

How do you practice self-care?

I have been focusing on crafting (e.g., painting) as a form of self-care recently, but the activity usually depends on my moods or current interests. In general, I practice self-care by being consistent and intentional. What this typically looks like is setting aside time weekly to immerse myself in a project that feels fulfilling and brings me joy.