Madison Pavone (she/her/hers) is a first-year master’s student.

Where is your hometown?

Strongsville, Ohio

Where did you obtain your bachelor’s, and what were your major(s)?

Baldwin Wallace University, Psychology Major, Gender Studies Minor

What first interested you in psychology?

I want to say, “being able to help other people”, which sounds quite cliché, but is the truth. I find fulfillment in being able to foster relationships with others in a counseling setting, build community, and conduct research that can be utilized to advocate for social justice on a systemic level

Why did you choose Ball State?

I chose Ball State because of the matched faculty-student research interests as well as the dual Social-CMHC program

What do you think of your experience at Ball State as an MA student so far? 

Given I came from out of state, I was concerned it would be quite difficult for me to transition into so many changes at once. Though, I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly I grew comfortable within my cohort and the department. So I’d say it’s been great so far!

What are your research interests?

Gender stereotypes, Fat prejudice, Feminist Theory and Therapy

What are your future plans and career goals?

I have many avenues I would be interested in pursuing following graduation; private practice, teaching at a university, continuing research in my interests, and doing advocacy work are just a few!

What are a few of your favorite hobbies?

Weightlifting, Singing, Dancing (not well), and Cooking (also not well)

What food could you not live without?

Bread, of any kind, but particularly French baguettes.

What’s your favorite TV show currently?


What’s something about you that people would be surprised to know?

I am a jazz singer!

How do you practice self-care?

Cooking for myself (and dancing alone in my kitchen, of course)