CCIM students and recent graduates won 11 awards spanning 9 categories at the 2020 BEA Festival of Media Arts Competition. This includes 4 first place awards and the top honor—Best of Festival—in the Sports Competition category. The full list of CCIM winners, faculty mentors, and winning work is highlighted below.

Thank you, Dr. Dom Caristi and Paige Waters for compiling the list!


Short Form Documentary

• 2nd Place tie
Garrett Looker, Michael Robb, Madeline Grosh & Eric Pritchett
Why It Matters: A Tale of Two Cities
Faculty/staff advisers: Terry Heifetz & Lisa Renze-Rhodes

• Award of Excellence
Jacob T. Clouse, Parker S. Swartz, Adrienne C. Heckler & Jake M. Helmen,
Match Point: The Rise of Men’s Volleyball
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Adam J. Kuban & Dr. Jennifer Palilonis

Narrative Category

• Award of Excellence
Dylan Query & Jacob Stieneker
Cold Creek
Faculty Advisor: Alex Lukens

Emerging Media Technology

• 2nd Place
Parker Swartz, Rachel Hayre-Edwards, Jacob Newell & Elijah Yarde
Match Point: A Transmedia Campaign
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Palilonis & Adam Kuban

Sports Competition

• Best of Festival, Student Sports
Connor Nichols & Luke Astle
The Comeback Kid: Nick LaVanchy (Television Sports Story/Feature Long)
Faculty Advisor: Chris Taylor

Promotional Video/Tease/PSA

• 1st Place tie
Zach Roy
Brush Strokes: Ball State Basketball 2019-20
Faculty Advisor: Chris Taylor

• 1st Place tie
Seena Greiwe
This Is Our Stage: Ball State Football 2019
Faculty Advisor: Chris Taylor

Radio/TV Sports Event: Play-by-Play Talent

• 1st Place
Jack Kizer
Ball State Basketball vs. IUPUI
Faculty Advisor: Chris Taylor

Television Sports Event Production

• 2nd Place tie
Faith Denig, Luke Foster, Jared Frank & Jarin Matheny
Ball State Women’s Basketball vs. Western Kentucky
Faculty Advisor: Chris Taylor

Television Sports Story Feature: Long

• Award of Excellence
Jordan Nemeth & Lauren Krupica
The Wiseman: Ball State Golf
Faculty Advisor: Chris Taylor

Television Sports Talent (Anchor / Host)

• 1st Place tie
Jack Kizer
Faculty Advisor: Chris Taylor


All winners will be spotlighted at the BEA annual convention in Las Vegas, April 18-21, 2020. More information can be found on the BEA website.