Where is your hometown?

Gabe Beratio

Gabe Beratio, master’s student in social psychology

Peoria, Illinois

Where did you obtain your bachelor’s, and what were your major(s)?

I graduated with a double major in psychology and political science at Bradley University.

What first interested you in social psychology?

I was first interested in the laws that govern people, (hence my political science major), but I realized that I was more interested in the behaviors that people do. Social psychology was the perfect subdiscipline of psych for me simply because it wants to understand the daily behaviors of everyday people.

Why did you choose Ball State? 

I chose Ball State, because I liked that there is a master’s program with an emphasis in social psychology. I also liked the research interests of Dr. Kelsey Thiem and Dr. Mary Kite. As an undergrad, I worked with a professor who did a lot of research in the psychology of gender, so having graduate professors who had similar interests as my undergrad professor was a big plus. Lastly, Ball State had a lot of opportunities for graduate assistantships. Not paying for grad school is awesome.

What do you think of your experience at Ball State as a MA student so far? 

I love it so far! There’s so much stuff to do for grad school, but overall, I’m managing through. Dr. Kite and Dr. Thiem are very helpful and the second-year students are as well. There are also so many opportunities to do at Ball State. I didn’t even know we had a planetarium and an art museum! My cohort is cool as well. Each one of us has such different experiences that it’s so interesting to hear their stories. Lastly, I’ve become close friends to two people in my cohort. We hang out a lot and they are such awesome people!

What are your research interests? 

I’m interested in intergroup relations. Particularly, I’m interested in how intergroup relations shape stereotypes and the ways to reduce conflicts between out-groups.

What are your future plans and career goals?

As of this moment, I’m torn about continuing to get my PhD or just going to the private sector after my master’s. I’m content with either choice, but I do plan to reassess what I plan to do next semester.

What are a few of your favorite hobbies? 

I’ve been learning how to cook since grad school started. I’m genuinely enjoying it, and I have a lot of recipes that I want to try. I also love to sing so you’ll sometimes see me humming randomly.

What is your favorite fall scent?

Apple cider/apple cinnamon.

What’s your #1 recommendation show, movie, podcast, or book?

I love watching The West Wing. As a political junkie, I’ve watched that series three times already. Highly recommended!

If you were a vegetable, what kind would you be and why?

I’d be a potato, because they are such versatile vegetables. You could put it in broths, make French fries, mashed potatoes, and a lot of other delicious food.

How do you practice self-care?

I like to have a day where I don’t do anything. Typically, Saturday for me is where I just let my brain relax and not worry about grad school or my assistantship. It really helps me prepare for the next week when there’s a day I don’t think about anything.

Follow Us