Where is your hometown?

I was born in Fort Wayne, Indiana and moved to Traverse City, Michigan when I was in high school. I would consider Traverse City to be my hometown.

Where did you obtain your bachelor’s degree, and what was/were your major(s)?

I completed my undergrad at Indiana University Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) in 2018 with a BA in Psychology from Purdue. I declared a minor in German before the program was cut, but sadly was unable to complete it.

What first interested you in counseling?

I think my first serious moment of wanting to work in a clinical setting was after my first week in a senior practicum class in undergrad. I loved how challenging and rewarding those sessions were.

Why did you choose Ball State?

My decision to come to Ball State is a long and interesting story! The short version is that Ball State made more financial and geographical sense. Ball State is closer to family and much more affordable than other universities I was considering. Also, being in a dual major master’s program I felt would allow me more freedom to continue doing research while still being able to pursue a counseling degree.

What do you think of your experience at Ball State as a Master’s student so far?

I love Ball State. I have greatly enjoyed my time here so far and am looking forward to what the future holds for me! I feel that Ball State is a nurturing and supportive place for students. There are so many great opportunities that I am still learning about.

What are your research interests?

I have a lot of research interests, but my primary interests are on intimate relationships and partner selection. Essentially, who do people choose to start dating and what factors influence their decision making.

What are your future plans and career goals?

My end goal is to return to academia as a professor and researcher. Future plans include attending a doctoral program in counseling psychology or social psychology. I have not yet decided. Regardless, I would still like to work in clinical settings after finishing schooling, whether that be in private practice or in community mental health.

What are some of your favorite hobbies?

I started golfing last summer and have become hooked on the sport. I am also a private tennis instructor and am slowly getting back into playing competitively. I love to cook, read, travel and visit friends, and playing with my dog, Duke.

If you could have any animal as a pet, which would you pick and what would you name them?

I would choose a Manatee and name them oolong (like the tea).

What’s a movie you can practically quote from start to finish?

“National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation”

If you were a brand of cereal, what would you be? Why?

Hmm. This is a tough question, as I don’t really eat cereal. But, I would probably have to say Frosted Flakes because it is an amazingly dependable cereal choice, and I am a dependable person.

How do you practice selfcare?

I practice selfcare by first getting out of environments that I feel exacerbate unwellness. Whether that be in a classroom, an empty apartment, or cities. I play a lot of golf, which keeps me outside and with nature, as well as with friends. I enjoy traveling and going on new adventures to help rejuvenate my soul. Lastly, my first semester here, I was not eating as healthily or as well as I was before school started—which greatly affected me in so many ways! I did not realize that food played such a great role in my wellbeing. So, my new selfcare not only involves golf but also plenty of cooking.