Ball State University’s Dr. W. Holmes Finch has earned a fellowship through the American Educational Research Association (AERA) in recognition of his substantial research accomplishments.

Dr. Finch is the George and Frances Ball Distinguished Professor of Educational Psychology in the Teacher’s College.

The recognition is a huge victory for Dr. Finch and for Teachers College. He is the first researcher from Ball State to be named an AERA Fellow.

His research interests include structural equation modeling, item response theory, educational and psychological measurement, multilevel modeling, machine learning, and robust multivariate inference. In addition to conducting research in the field of statistics, he also regularly collaborates with colleagues in fields such as educational psychology, neuropsychology, and exercise physiology.

He has been with the University since 2003.

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning.

“AERA Fellows exemplify the highest standards of excellence through accomplishment, professionalism, and commitment,” said AERA executive director Felice J. Levine.

Dr. Finch was among a dozen 2020 Fellows, each nominated by peers, selected by the Fellows Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the association’s elected governing body.

He will be inducted on April 18 during the 2020 AERA Annual Meeting in San Francisco. They join 665 current AERA Fellows.

Dr. Finch holds a PhD in educational psychology and research from the University of South Carolina. He also earned a bachelor’s degree in history and a master’s degree in educational research from University of South Carolina.

Being named an AERA Fellow is just the latest among many ways Dr. Finch has earned recognition for his work, both nationwide and on campus. In 2009, he won the Ann Anastasi Early Career Award from Division 5 of the American Psychological Association. At Ball State, he has earned two outstanding research awards since 2012.

Follow Us